Author Topic: Paper on Art Speigelman  (Read 476 times)

Offline tinyrevel

Paper on Art Speigelman
« on: March 03, 2024, 12:35:24 PM »
Hi everyone! I'm a college student, and I'm writing a paper about the evolution of Art Speigelman's work, and so of course I'd like to start by talking about Wacky Packages! Could anyone tell me/tell me where to find a list of all the illustrations he did?
I'm also a big Wacky Packages fan in general lol :) nice to meet you all!

Offline Joe G.

Re: Paper on Art Speigelman
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2024, 12:49:15 PM »
Hello tinyrevel that sounds like a fun project.  I assume you’ve read Art’s introduction to the first Abrams Wacky Packages book so know that he was instrumental in the creation of Wackys and did a ton of roughs for the original series.  Unfortunately few of those survive but here a link to an excellent source of existing ones that do.  Some are labled as to the artist so if you look through you’ll find a handful of Arts.

http://lostwackys.com/Wacky-Packages/rough-art/

Offline tinyrevel

« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2024, 01:06:11 PM »
I had not read the book, actually, it's in the special collections section of my library and I needed to make an appointment to view it, but good to know that some of that information is in there!

Offline Joe G.

« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2024, 10:47:15 AM »
OK I was curious so grabbed the existing Wacky roughs I believe are by Art and here they are.  As you can see it’s only 23 and a few are my best guess as to whether he did them or not.  Not great scans but the best I could find on line.  Not all of these were completed as final stickers.  Of the last 6 only PlayBug was made as a final sticker (albiet with a different design by Jay Lynch) and the other 5 are what’s known as Lost Wackys as they never went past the rough stage.  Salami Street is a lost Wacky as well.

« Last Edit: March 10, 2024, 12:34:01 PM by Joe G. »

Offline roughwriter

• Rough Writer