Author Topic: Wacky Welcome  (Read 3837 times)

Offline Yubum

• Complete Novice
Wacky Welcome
« on: May 14, 2020, 08:15:50 AM »

Hi all,

Just joined the forum (thanks RawGoo!) and wanted to introduce myself.

Mainly a comic collector but loved Wacky Packages as a kid in the late 70s and, after buying some of the newer stuff (ANS 10?) for a friend's son, found myself nostalgic for the long-gone stickers from my childhood. After a little research, I discovered they were actually the rerun series from 1979 and decided it would be cool to track down the originals.

Ended up buying some starter sets (a few complete series in EX+/NM condition) from wackypackages_dot_org on ebay. I also bought a couple of series 15 PSA 8 stickers from sadie20001 on ebay ($14 each) to hopefully educate myself on the difference between EX and NM cards so I can eventually upgrade some of the lower-grade stickers in those starter sets.

Feel free to send any wacky collecting advice my way - I am a total novice.

And do the members here store their stickers in simple penny sleeves or some other method? And is there a preference for raw or graded wackys?

Thanks!

Yubum (Sean)

Offline Baked Bears

Re: Wacky Welcome
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2020, 12:17:52 PM »
Welcome to the Wacky Packages Forum!  Best of luck beginning your collection; It all depends how far you want to go, but there's a lot you can catch up on.  From what I've seen, most members here store their stickers in old shoe or cigar boxes.  I am above that though, and bind my vintage sets with rubber bands. 

Offline Baked Bears

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2020, 12:18:59 PM »
Just kidding!  I store my stickers in 9-pocket sleeves in a few dozen binders.

Offline Paul_Maul

« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2020, 12:28:55 PM »
Hi all,

Just joined the forum (thanks RawGoo!) and wanted to introduce myself.